Boston Urban Area Working Group

The Urban Area Working Group includes one representative from each of the Metro Boston Homeland Security Region's (MBHSR) nine jurisdictions. The Chief Municipal Officer of each jurisdiction selects the representative for that jurisdiction. The UAWG meets monthly and are responsible for providing overall approval of spending plans and decides policy issues. They also set the high level goals for the Region and oversee the subcommittees that develop and implement specific objectives to fulfill the goals.

The MBHSR has established subcommittees that are aligned with its goals. The subcommittees advise the UAWG on needs and priorities regarding their designated goal area. They are also responsible for identifying and developing initiatives intended to achieve specific goals and objectives while overseeing projects and ensuring they are properly implemented. The subcommittees meet monthly and may rely upon project working groups.

Project Working Groups are established to achieve the MBHSR objectives by implementing initiatives. The working groups will implement and manage specific projects developed by the subcommittees.

Boston UAWG Voting Members

Boston – Chief Daniel Linskey, Boston Police Department

Brookline - Chief Daniel O'Leary, Brookline Police Department

Cambridge - Chief Gerald Reardon, Cambridge Fire Department

Chelsea - Capt. Edward Martin, Chelsea Police Department

Everett - Chief Dave Butler, Everett Fire Department

Quincy – Lt. Robert Gillian, Quincy Police Department

Revere – Chief Eugene Doherty, Revere Fire Department

Somerville - Tom Graney, City of Somerville Mayor's Office

Winthrop - Chief Paul Flanagan, Winthrop Fire Department